(Article/content is below...)

2008 Academy Award Nominees

The Academy Awards for the best films in 2008 will be held on February 22 at the Kodak Theatre in Hollywood, California. The awards will be televised in the USA on ABC and hosted by Hugh Jackman for the first time.

Each year there are surprises amongst the nominations, this year is no different. However, the biggest surprise isn't coming from the films actually being nominated but the film that isn't: The Dark Knight.

When the nominations were announced, every news organization and film lover was shocked to find The Dark Knight didn't receive more nominations. I, for one, am not surprised nor unhappy this occurred. I found the film plain but well directed. The films nominated are much more artistic and well rounded.

And the nominees are:

Best Picture:
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
The Reader
Slumdog Millionaire (Winner)

Best Actor
Frank Langella - Frost/Nixon
Richard Jenkins - The Visitor
Sean Penn - Milk (Winner)
Brad Pitt - The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Mickey Rourke - The Wrestler

Best Actress
Angelina Jolie - Changeling
Anne Hathaway - Rachel Getting Married
Meryl Streep - Doubt
Melissa Leo - Frozen River
Kate Winslet - The Reader (Winner)

Best Supporting Actor
Robert Downey Jr. - Tropic Thunder
Josh Brolin - Milk
Philip Seymour Hoffman - Doubt
Heath Ledger - The Dark Knight (Winner)
Michael Shannon - Revolutionary Road

Best Supporting Actress
Amy Adams - Doubt
Penélope Cruz - Vicky Cristina Barcelona (Winner)
Viola Davis - Doubt
Taraji P. Henson - The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Marisa Tomei - The Wrestler

Best Director
Danny Boyle - Slumdog Millionaire (Winner)
Stephen Daldry - The Reader
Gus Van Sant - Milk
David Fincher - The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Ron Howard - Frost/Nixon

Best Original Screenplay
Frozen River - Courtney Hunt
Happy-Go-Lucky - Mike Leigh
In Bruges - Martin McDonagh
Wall-E - Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon, Pete Docter
Milk - Dustin Lance Black (Winner)
Best Adapted Screenplay
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button - Eric Roth, Robin Swicord
Frost/Nixon - Peter Morgan
The Reader - David Hare
Doubt - John Patrick Shanley
Slumdog Millionaire - Simon Beaufoy (Winner)

Best Foreign-Language Film
The Baader Meinhof Complex
The Class
Departures (Winner)
Waltz With Bashir

Best Animated Feature Film
Kung Fu Panda
Wall-E (Winner)
Last update: