(Article/content is below...)

The Human Seasons by John Keats


"The Human Seasons" is a poem by Keats. He speaks of the different emotions of man. He run throughs each by stating how we react. For spring, we have lust. For summer, we take in the beauty of spring and become youthful, we dream of our futures. For fall, we are content with ourselves and how things are. For winter, we show our mortality and have misfortunes.

"The Human Seasons" is a Elizabethan sonnet. It is one stanza with fourteen lines. Although not all Petrarchan sonnets have the same meter length, this one is written in iambic pentameter. It has the rhyme scheme ABABCDCDEFEFGG. Line five is completely out of place. It is uncommon for a sonnet of this type to not rhyme with another line. Keats is known to do this throughout his writings.


The Human Seasons

Four seasons fill the measure of the year;
There are four seasons in the mind of Man:
He has his lusty Spring, when fancy clear
Takes in all beauty with an easy span:
He has his Summer, when luxuriously
Spring's honeyed cud of youthful thought he loves
To ruminate, and by such dreaming high
Is nearest unto heaven: quiet coves
His soul has in its Autumn, when his wings
He furleth close; contented so to look
On mists in idleness -to let fair things
Pass by unheeded as a threshold brook: -
He has his Winter too of pale misfeature,
Or else he would forgo his mortal nature.

Next: Ode on a Grecian Urn
Recommended Content
Find out more information about this poem and read others like it.


Literary Movement
Romanticism, 18th Century

Sonnet, Spring, Summer, Winter, Fall, Life

Last update: